I started out wanting to make a blue cake. After making a Pink Lady Cake, which got its colouring from strawberries and Red Velvet cake that got its colouring from beets, I was determined to make a blue cake naturally. So, blueberries to the rescue. Now blueberries are natural, yes but blended blueberries mixed into cake batter and baked looks frightening unnatural so I had to back up that truck and try again. I really didn’t want whole blueberries so when I found this recipe that marbled the blueberries and the lemon cake batter – Eureka!!

I needed to make a cake to serve about 60 people so in addition to the two layers of Lemon-Blueberry marbled cake, I decided to make a Lemon Chiffon cake, which also yielded two layers. For the fillings, I used lemon buttercream frosting, blueberry jam and lemon curd.

To assemble this cake, I used

2 layers of lemon chiffon cake (10″ square)
2 layers of Marbled Lemon-Blueberry Butter Cake (10″ square)
2 cups of lemon curd
3 cups of blueberry jam
Swiss meringue buttercream

First, I placed one layer of Lemon-Blueberry cake on the serving platter. I placed 4 wide strips of wax paper under the four edges of the cake so I don’t mess up the platter. The filling is Swiss Meringue Buttercream, topped with blueberry jam.

The second layer is the Lemon Chiffon cake, topped with the buttercream, and meyer lemon curd.

The third layer is the Lemon Blueberry cake topped with blueberry jam. The top layer is the second layer of Lemon Chiffon cake. Then I crumb coated the cake and placed in the fridge to set. (Sorry, I don’t have a picture).

I put a cup of washed blueberries in a pan and added the juice of half a lemon. I swirled the blueberries over medium heat until they started losing their blue colour and turning maroon. I took it off the heat and left it to cool. While the blueberries cooled, I frosted the cake with the buttercream. Once done frosting, I placed the blueberries on top of the cake and done!

Enjoy,

Mak.

